The Thread: 01/02/2022

“Fostering A More Involved Lion in You”
District Governor Dr. Jun Valera
January 2, 2022
Have trouble viewing this email? View as Webpage
Use Lions hashtags when posting on social media!
#Lions4C4 #CaliforniaLions #WeServe #KindnessMatters
JANUARY 2022
Sat, Jan 8
Sat, Jan 15
Sun, Jan 16
Sun, Jan 23
Mon, Jan 24
Wed, Jan 26
Save the date: San Francisco Coordinating Council of Lions Clubs Meeting
Sat, Jan 29 – Mon, Jan 31
Sat, Jan 29
FEBRUARY 2022
Sat, Feb 5
Sat, Feb 12
Sat, Feb 19
Save the date: District 4-C4 3rd Cabinet Meeting
Wed, Feb 23
Save the date: San Francisco Coordinating Council of Lions Clubs Meeting
Sun, Feb 27
Save the date: Foster City Lions Club Crab Feed NEW
Mon, Feb 28
Save the date: Peninsula Council of Lions Club Meeting
MARCH 2022
Fri, Mar 11
Fri, Mar 18 – Sun, Mar 20
Wed, Mar 23
Save the date: San Francisco Coordinating Council of Lions Clubs Meeting
Fri, Mar 25
Save the date: Peninsula Council of Lions Club Police & Firefighter Awards
Sat, Mar 26
APRIL 2022
Mon, Apr 25
Save the date: Peninsula Council of Lions Club Meeting
Wed, Apr 27
Save the date: San Francisco Coordinating Council of Lions Clubs Meeting
Sat, Apr 30
Save the date: San Francisco Coordinating Council of Lions Police, Firefighters & Sheriffs Awards
Sun, May 15
Thu, May 19 – Sun, May 22
Save the date: District 4-C4 Convention
Mon, May 23
Save the date: Peninsula and San Francisco Coordinating Council of Lions Clubs Joint Meeting
JUNE 2022
Wed, Jun 22
Save the date: San Francisco Coordinating Council of Lions Clubs Meeting
Fri, Jun 24 – Tue, Jun 28
Mon, Jun 27
Save the date: Peninsula Council of Lions Club Meeting
DISTRICT COMMITTEES/ENDORSED PROJECTS
DISTRICT 
DISASTER PREPAREDNESS & RESPONSE/ALERT
Need an AED at your club event? Please email Guardian Angel/CPR Program Chair Sandee Schlickman
DISTRICT NEWSLETTER
Email Newsletter Editor Lion John Gill  with information about your completed projects/events to be included in our Quarterly District Newsletter. Due dates for submissions: September 8, December 8, March 8, and June 8.
STUDENT SPEAKERS CONTEST
This year’s topic: “How Can Kindness Reunite Our Country?”
Click here to order your Student Speakers Contest Kit from Multiple District 4 – cost is $25.00.
District Student Speaker Contest Fee is $100.00, due prior to your student’s participation in Zone Contest. 
Make check payable to District 4-C4 and mail to P.O. Box 25301, San Mateo CA 94402; please show “Student Speaker Contest” on the memo line.
Never hosted a Student Speaker Contest? Lion Mary is happy to help you through the process, including recruiting students!
 
For additional information, please contact Student Speakers Contest Chair Mary Carbullido email: mcarbullido88@gmail.com Phone: 650-593-6384
Contest Dates:
Club contests must be held on or before February 21, 2022
Zone contests must be held on or before March 21, 2022
Region contests must be held on or before April 11, 2022
District contests must be held on or before May 2, 2022
Area contests must be held on or before May 23, 2022
Final contest will be held June 2022 in San Jose
 
SUNSHINE
Thank you for being a Lion. Your district would like to send a “Ray of Sunshine and Joy” to our members who are sick, in the hospital, not feeling well mentally and/or physically. Don’t forget we also want to acknowledge those who are now well. And, we want to send messages of support and condolences on the passing of a Lion.  We care. Please email sunshine@lions4c4.org so we can extend a warm hello and hi.  The Sunshine Message can be sent Privately as well as announced to the District via The Thread, your choice.  We deeply appreciate each and everyone’s service. – Lion Alison Wilson 
DISTRICT 4-C4 VISION SCREENERS
District 4-C4 has four vision screeners (2 Spot and 2 PlusOptix) available for club use on a first come, first serve basis.
Contact Vision Screener Scheduler Lion Mary Picchi
YOUTH PROTECTION POLICY
ENDORSED PROJECTS
GLOBAL INITIATIVE FOR HEALTH AND WELLNESS
LIONS VETERANS CHARITIES
Mon, Jan 17
ROBERT G. SMITH WALK TO CANCEL OUT PARKINSON’S “COP”
Save the date: Sat, April 2 Annual Robert G Smith Walk & 5K Run
LIONS GRANT OPPORTUNITIES
NEWSLETTERS
SOLICITATIONS
CALIFORNIA LIONS – MULTIPLE DISTRICT 4
CLUBS
San Francisco Geneva-Excelsior
LIONS ENDORSED PROJECTS
Lions Eye Foundation of California-Nevada, Inc.
Lions Project for Canine Companions
Lions Veterans Charities, Inc.
Student Speakers Foundation
CLUB REPORTING
See the FAQ on Creating and Accessing a Lion Account with Lions Clubs International
MEMBERSHIP
Click Club Membership Report (MMR) to report new members, update member information, etc.
SERVICE
Click here for LCI’s page on Service Reporting
Click here for a basic guide on How to Report a Service Activity (MyLion)
Click here for a FAQ on Reporting Service Activities (MyLion)
CLUB OFFICERS
CLUB CONTESTS
INFORMATION
Click 2021-2022 DISTRICT 4-C4 CABINET contact information
THE THREAD PUBLICATION POLICY
  • The Thread will be published once a week – usually on Sunday evening
  • Event and Community Service Flyers may be included on The Thread if the event is sponsored by LCI, MD-4, District 4-C4, 4-C4 Lions Club(s) with the sponsoring Lions Club(s) listed. If the sponsoring club(s) are not listed, flyer will be returned to sender to modify.
  • Flyers/Announcements may be listed/included on The Thread if received by Noon each Friday. Please email to lions4service@gmail.com. Flyers will be acknowledged as received to the sender – if you do not receive an acknowledgement, please resend.
Copies of The Thread are available on District 4-C4 Website